My teaching-learning philosophy #2

So, then, I am of the opinion, as Cranton states, that the “teaching and learning process is the mutual responsibility of the instructor and the learner. The instructor’s role is one of resource person, co-inquirer, facilitator, catalyst and guide.” (Cranton, 2000). As such, my aspiration is to be a skillful teacher as Brookfield describes: “growing into the truth of teaching … developing a trust, a sense of intuitive confidence, in the accuracy and validity of my judgments and insights, and establishing an authentic presence in the classroom.” (Brookfield, 2006). According to Brookfield (2006), the skillful teacher’s activities are “grounded in three core assumptions:
(1) Skillful teaching is whatever helps students learn;
(2) Skillful teachers adopt a critically reflective stance towards their practice; and
(3) The most important knowledge skillful teachers need to do good work is a constant awareness of how students are experiencing their learning and perceiving teachers’ actions.”

These assumptions, too, are a part of my teaching-learning philosophy – a part of who I am as an educator and they ultimately dictate my practice.

2 Responses

  1. Very nice and informative article, by the way I am using http://www.makecitation.com, to make citations, a very good citation machine. I am sharing this through this great platform with others. And, to check Plagiarism I am using http://www.findplagiarism.net. Both are very good websites.
    Best Regards,
    Malik.

  2. Thanks, Malik. I’ll check those out!

Leave a Reply

